Sign in to follow this  
GROOVIE COINS

Tips for storing or presenting details coins

GROOVIE COINS

Good day all

I am nearing completion of a 1935 set (short one coin) that I've been putting together since 2017. My goal was to put together the nicest set at an affordable price and with unc coins were out of my price range, many times I settled for good looking details coins.

A rim nick on the penny, a slight scratch or two on the florin, a small spot of verdigris on the farthing and ever so slight hairlines on the obverse of the shilling, but none of these stand out like a sore thumb. I made sure to avoid cleaned coins though.

For a while I've thought about getting an empty mint box from the 1950s for a nice looking presentation, but without a crown the box would look incomplete. I've also thought about putting in a british 1935 crown to fill the space, but I'm not overly fond of the idea.

The thought of having them graded through SANGS has also crossed my mind, but knowing that these are mostly details coins in my opinion and not to mention the high cost of grading king George V coins swayed me for alternative ideas. 

Other options are those hartburger white card flips, the A5 pastic sheets, or even the hartburger flips in the A5 sheets and in a file. I'm not so sure how appealing those would look, but I've had the A5 plastic sheets before and recall the coin detail weren't as clear through the thick layers of plastic. 

Another option would be the round plastic capsules, but this again leaves me with many capsules all over the place.

I also see the empty NGC style slabs being sold on BOB for R44 each and think they would make for a nice presentation at certainly less the cost of official grading. Though those would in turn need to be placed in container or flat wooden box which all adds to the costs of coins that really aren't all that valuable to begin with.