Sign in to follow this  
GROOVIE COINS

Rare pattern listing or con?

GROOVIE COINS

Good day

I'm no expert on patterns, but the last I remember second decimal patterns have the detailed flowing hair on van Riebeeck's bust. I'm not sure if patterns were struck with the normal van Riebeeck bust.

That being said, this coin looks like a normal uncirculated 50cent piece to me, perhaps proof like? I always struggle to tell the difference as I use the mirror fields as an indicator.

This coin doesn't look like it has mirror fields, but does show some frosting on the device.

Seller has no ratings and states they are from France.

https://www.bidorbuy.co.za/item/406031629/Rare_1965_SA_50c_Pattern_coin.html

dcdoberman

Hi

Let me just say that if you're in the market for this type of coin you should know your stuff or stay away as far as possible from ungraded coins and even if graded you must check and verify at NGC of PCGS with photos. If this is not possible then only buy from big auction houses like Heritage or Stacks & Bowers etc .

I was at a coin show in Las Vegas and at one of the seminars we were presented for inspection (in hand) coins in PCGS and NGC holders and told that one of each are fake, I could not tell the difference between the fake and real and no one else near me could either so  holders are no guarantee on their own. Be careful. 

Regards

jwither

The probability of a counterfeit SA coin in a counterfeit NGC or PCGS holder is low.  It can happen but I have only heard of it for US coins.

Cold Sea

Ask the seller why he thinks it's a pattern coin. 

20 hours ago, jwither said:

The probability of a counterfeit SA coin in a counterfeit NGC or PCGS holder is low. 

@jwither - Why do you say this?

Edited by Cold Sea

jwither
3 hours ago, Cold Sea said:

Ask the seller why he thinks it's a pattern coin. 

@jwither - Why do you say this?

Because it isn't really very profitable to counterfeit most SA coins, just as it isn't for most others.