Sign in to follow this  
reeceonlinetrading

payments from buyers

reeceonlinetrading

Hiya as you can see i am a real noob :laugh:

how long does a seller have to wait for payment from a buyer, and is the first and last day included ?

thanks

Vinyl Lady Decals

Hi, most sellers give three days which is reasonable, it is a good idea for you to state what your payment terms are as some buyers will take their time if you don't state this.

I state three days and then allow an extra 2 days for payment clearing just in case. Then I start sending reminders every three days. I send three reminders which i feel is more than ample. If I still don't have payment by then, I file an SNC to get my fees back. You can only file an SNC after 7 days minimum.

reeceonlinetrading

Thanks for the reply Vinyl Lady, would you count the first day and last day if you give them 7 days? I stated payment must be made within 5 days it is with the shipping costs. I have a person that won an auction on 6/10/2014 sent 2 emails so far but no response

Vinyl Lady Decals

Yes, I would as a precaution, some banks take a while to transfer the payment.

reeceonlinetrading

thanks Vinyl Lady

NooNooBug

I no longer state how many days to pay in coz buyers tend to ignore that ! I usually send out an email on day 4 as a friendly reminder that is isn't paid yet but ready to post etc etc then on day 6 a further reminder & day 7 file an SNC if nothing received. I have found those that do not pay when they place the order fall into one of 3 groups;

1. First reminder & they pay

2. File an SNC & they suddenly pay

3. Doesn't matter what you do they do not plan on paying anyway !

When I was a Newbie I gave them 14 days ! Now I don't ! If you haven't paid by day 7, tough takkies its SNC time !

reeceonlinetrading