Sign in to follow this  
solik

DNW Auction 2-3 April 2014

solik

Hi, was wondering if anyone could help (especially some experienced Bobbers).

I am a beginner in the market and up to now, havent ever bought from any international auction site but only from Bidorbuy locally.

I see there are quite a few nice graded coins coming up in the DNW 2-3 April 2014 Auction specifically those in big lots which are easy for beginners (lots 1563-1613) and some select coins in lots 1238-1266.

What are some of the things i need to consider when buying from an overseas auction. I have listed some questions below:

1. Buyers Premium - I see there is a 20% buyers premium, but what about any additonal charges?

2. VAT - how do you get charged VAT when bringing the coin back into RSA?

3. Importing - is there any special documentation you need or can you simply ship with FEDEX?

4. Paying - do most buyer pay with credit card or EFT? Is there any decleartion you need from SARS?

5. Estimates - the estiamtes seem rather low compared to market prices - is this something typical of auction houses and do the prices normally exceed or are they accurate?

Would appreciate some advice from experienced bobbers, as I see there are some really good coins, but just want to know if there are any other ancillary or administration that needs to be factored in?

Thanks very much,

Regards

jwither

I do not live in South Africa, so I cannot answe your questions on bringing them back there.

I pay with Visa when I have bought from them in the past. There is a modest surcharge to cover the merchant fee.

You can also see my other reply in the other topic. Ignore the estimates.

If you are actually interested in bidding, you will need to use your prior experience to determine how much to pay. There is no absolute right or wrong answer.

I gathered from your posts that you are relatively new to collecting. If so, have you thought about goals for your collection?