Sign in to follow this  
jp_strydom

Auction closes before the specified time?!

jp_strydom

Hi...I'm new to this and I gotta say I'm really enjoying the experience!

Just a quick question to the experienced users...what are the rules/regulations regarding when an auction was initially said to close vs when it actually does?I was bidding on an item and the Seller specified that the auction closes at 20h00 on 29 Dec 2013...when I went to increase my bid (I was out bid and e-mail notified) quite some time elapsed before a I decided to increase (I remembered the 20h00 closing time right?) but when I logged on I saw that the auction has closed about 4 hours before the Seller said it would...I'm quite upset I lost that bid but I would just like to know if I misunderstood the rules or if I was the sufferer of a terrible crime...hehe:bigsmile:

I'm looking forward to the replies...hopefully I can help some "newby" out some day!

Regards

admin

Hi jp_strydom,

153455_131206133559_welcome_e0.gif

The seller can close the auction at anytime when they are satisfied with the current winning bid. If you really want an item, it is best to bid your maximum amount with your first bid, making it an auto bid.

jp_strydom

Oh ok...so the Seller still has ultimate authority!however...this can easily be falsely interpreted as "shill bidding" (if I'm using the term correctly)?I mean...the Seller probably had good enough reasons to decide to close the bidding earlier but I can't help thinking that "buyer rating" plays a big role (eg if I were to decide to close a bid prematurely, a good Buyer rating and/or a great bid would be the things I look at)...the highest bid in my case wasnt much higher than mine and the rating is "unknown" (ie new guy/gal like me)...

Owel...I just wanted to clear that up...I'm sure there was no foul play involved...guess that's what it feels like to lose at auction!

G'night!

Colin_P