Sign in to follow this  
Daniel58

2008 mandela Birthday coins

Daniel58

Hi I'm new to coin collecting(but hopefully not to stupid). I would like someone to explain to me why an AU53 graded coin is being offered at between R3500.00 and R20 000.00. I appreciate the fact that there are very few with that grade. But surely an AU53 coin with millions of MS grades available is just a piece of junk. Why pay so much for a used coin when you can get better.

I am sure I can take any one of my MS coins and turn it into an AU53(or maybe just find one in my change). One cannot normally improve the condition of a coin but I am sure that you can wear it out enough to get that AU53 look., Sorry this does not make sense to me. Or are the sellers trying to take someone for a ride.

Maybe I just need to get more experience in collecting coins then I may also see the beauty of a AU53 birthday coin.

alloway65

This "craze" started a few years ago and does not make any logical sense. Certain individuals tried to collect the full range of MS grades then this spilled over to the AU grades.

Daniel58

Thanks. My cash flow does not allow for collections like these. I prefer nice looking coins where possible. I just find it amazing that anyone would even have such coins graded.

jwither

Daniel,

The Mandela coin craze was a mania as alloway stated. I'm not sure where this stands now because I do not live in your country and never hear anything about these coins anymore, but I am sure that some of this stupidity lives on.