Sign in to follow this  
Pierre_Henri

Anyone have any idea if this is a fantasy or official issue?

alloway65    10
alloway65

I have never come across this one before Pierre.......and in the 70s & 80s I was quite big into stamps in RSA.

Cold Sea    0
Cold Sea

Some useless trivia that might help.

The picture on the envelope is that of the Palace of Justice in Pretoria, the court where Mandela's trial was heard, and not Parliament. I cannot place the rock or the kraal.

Both the coin and the stamp with RSA COA's were issued in 1984, the year the Prime Minister's position was abolished, and through a new constitution the position of an executive State President (PW Botha) was created. This might help explain the Union Building postmark.

By the way, the 1984 coins had no designer initials on the obverse or coat of arms.

culltony    10
culltony
is this an official issue? ...

No I Don't think so (I am no expert), I also have the same FDC but with a 1964 1c, I purchased on ebay from a seller in Germany.

I think they are made and sold from the EU on ebay, you will find similar FDC's for most African countries and I have even seen some for the old Venda, Transki, etc.

Cold Sea    0
Cold Sea

I e-mailed Philately South Africa, who was kind enough to pass this on to Michael from Crocker & Wigmore Philatelists. Their reply:

Philatelic Federation's Jill Redmond has passed on to me your 1985 coin cover debate enquiry.

I've looked at the item's scan and also read through the discussion line.

From a stamp perspective, I don't see anything that would worry me. The Union Buildings have

had their own post office since around 1913 and that canceller on the cover is the permanent

datestamp style allocated to it in, from memory, the mid 1970's. Important for us would be that

the design doesn't appear to include a PO logo or serial number.

The coin side of it is not my field but the mounting style onto the envelope reminds me of the