Sign in to follow this  
MagicMan0027

Help needed - coin collecting

MagicMan0027    10
MagicMan0027

Hi everybody I'm interested in coin collecting. I'm really a beginner. Where do I start ?? Where can I get info on which South African coins are collectable, what the values are, which periods are the most collectable; etc ???

All I can see on BoB is "Hern's Handbook on SA Coins & Patterns " Will this book help in any way ?

I will appreciate any assistance.

Thank you

jwither    10
jwither

If I were you, i would start with the Hern Guide and Alex's Nomisma Journals. The Hern Guide is useful as a reference for what is available to collect, the specifications of each coin and the mintages. It is NOT useful for valuation purposes for any scarcer coin and many or even most coins in the highest grades. Nomisma is the only research quality publication I have ever seen for Union coins and I have seen nothing equivalent for ZAR or RSA.

Depending upon how much time you want to spend, you could also consider these:

You can also look at prior posts on coin forums like this one but what I think would be more useful to you is to look at outside sources and numismatic articles in other markets such as the United States. The reason for this is that I consider the information on the BoB coin forum very limited because of the activity level you see here. These sources will not cover South Africa coins but there is still information that anyone can use generically. I do not get the sense that most here have any interest in numismatic thinking that does not directly relate to South African coins but there is a great deal which anyone can learn about collecting practices from other markets.