Sign in to follow this  
Cold Sea

A Pretty Pair

Cold Sea

ZAR stamps were initiated by Friedrich Jeppe, postmaster at Potchefstroom. Various designs were used for these issues which ran from 1869 to 1909. In 1894, two years after the Kruger pond double shaft OS debacle, the Transvaal government issued stamps depicting a double shaft ox wagon on the coat of arms, the only year with this error. I am no expert, but from what I can gather they were printed in Germany and sell for a premium. A perfect addition to the collection for the lucky few.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]3979[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=CONFIG]3980[/ATTACH]

Edited by Cold Sea

ATA STAMP CENTRE
ZAR stamps were initiated by Friedrich Jeppe, postmaster at Potchefstroom. Various designs were used for these issues which ran from 1869 to 1909. In 1894, two years after the Kruger pond double shaft OS debacle, the Transvaal government issued stamps depicting a double shaft ox wagon on the coat of arms, the only year with this error. I am no expert, but from what I can gather they were printed in Germany and sell for a premium. A perfect addition to the collection for the lucky few.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]3979[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=CONFIG]3980[/ATTACH]

HI

I would rather have the coin,thank you very much-The stamps are not rare at all and very common-The 1894 issue with wagon and single shaft was a set of 5 values to 1 shilling-the lower denominations were all issued in excess of 1,2 million stamps and the 1 shilling had an issue of 350 000 -

An unmounted full set like this is only catalogued at R200 AND for used set R160-Although there is a lot of interest in this area there is a large supply available so they do not attain a premium,normally fetching about 1/2 of catalogue value-Add to this the fact that the plates were never destroyed and this resulted in huge amounts of reprints/counterfeits coming on to the market for this period.