Sign in to follow this  
jcriller

Large amount of union coins being graded

jcriller

Hi fellow collectors

I would like to get the experts opinion on the large volume of union coins getting graded, it seems there is a sudden influx of high quality union coins, for eg in December 2011 there were only 137 graded 1923 1/4p and 68 graded 1930 1/4 p coins. Now about 9 months later we have 241 graded 1923 1/4p and 80 graded 1930 1/4p coins. Most of the new graded coins are above MS62.

Do you think that this will have an effect on the buying price of union coins? A 1930 1/4p recently sold for R7800.00, it seems quite a high price to pay for a coin with 97 other specimins around. And in the next few months the total population might climb to well over 100.

I am by no means an expert so i will leave this up for discussion to the experts.Looking forward to your replies

Regards

jwither

I do not have access to the NGC census. I believe Pierre told me here that you do not need to have a paying membership (I let mine expire since I no longer buy enough coins to send in for grading) but I cannot access it anyway.

Having said that, my comments on your post are these. Are these coins representative on the increases you have seen for Union? I ask because I have noticed large increases in some date/denomination combinations in the past but the absolute numbers were not particularly large except in a few instances and I suspect this is still true.

For the two examples you gave, neither of those two coins are particularly scarce. The 1923 bronze along with the 1924 1/2D had the largest populations for Union coins the last time I checked and yes, I have noticed substantial increases in all of these coins before, particularly with the 1924 1/2D and 1923 1D when many "conditional" rarities or near it suddenly showed up in the census.