Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kassem_ezz

Register with SARS As Importer

28 posts in this topic

Hi...

I ordered some stuff online from overseas. It's my first time ever that I order from overseas.

I phoned SARS to know what will the duties be on the import. I got what I needed but then the lady from SARS told

me that I need to register as an importer with SARS to be able to import. I told her that its not a big parcel and it's a small value. She said its all the same, you need to register.

I thought that the courier company will take care of everything??

I just wanted to know if any sellers here (who are individuals like me and not a company) have regsitered before

they could start importing and selling on bidorbuy.

Any help and suggestions are most appreciated.

I'm sure someone more knowledgeable regarding imports will reply Kassem, but I beleive your SARS lady got the wrong end of the stick. So long as SARS receive their income from someone, they are not in favour of creating unneccesary clients.

She may have assumed that you will be importing on a regular basis. From what I understand, you have simply "bought" something from an overseas seller.

You do need an importers code if you import more than 3 items a year i think.:ninja:

You can receive one gift per year duty free...if the supplier marks it as a gift.:cool:

However your parcel does get processed a lot faster if you have a importers code on the parcel. I think importers codes are mainly for business purposes though. Tax returns, book keeping etc.

I have a importers code.:bigsmile:

SARS wants to keep track of you my boy....

Edited by ATOMICSQUIRREL

I bring in coins from the US Mint and from other Coin Dealers in the USA and in most cases they are just delivered to my door by the designated Courier.

When I bring in Medical Goods for my medical supply business I use my Import permit.