Sign in to follow this  
honestabe

What does no reserve really mean on BOB?

honestabe    10
honestabe

Hi guys .

I am relatively new to this whole online auction game and have found that i have one major issue when deciding whether to bid or not on an item.'

My issue is that many items are advertised as "no reserve" , yet there is a starting bid placed/advertised by the seller ...surely this is in fact a de facto reserve ?

Am i missing something here ?

Surely no reserve means the bidding starts at zero ..it is not no reserve if you are selling a watch for example and the starting bid is R28500 yet there are no bidders listed for the item ??

I would appreciate clarity on this matter , especially in light of the current bad publicity and scandal relating to the goings on in the conventional auction game in South Africa .

qball    10
qball

Bidding cannot start at zero. A bid must be an amount. Therefore an auction must start at a bid amount, including conventional auctions. A reserve price is the minimum price that the seller is willing to accept for the item, or to put it another way the "ceiling" price that needs to be reached on the auction before the item can be sold. So if something starts at R1 no reserve, there is no "ceiling", and the item could be sold for as little as R1.

Essentially a starting bid amount could be considered the "reserve" price (or minimum amount the seller is willing to accept on the auction), but on a no reserve item the seller must sell the item at that bid amount. If the seller does not receive a bid for at least the amount of the reserve, they aren't obliged to sell the item. Once the reserve price has been met, the reserve price is no longer displayed, and they're obligated to sell the item to the winning bidder.

Hope this helps.

Vinyl Lady Decals    10
Vinyl Lady Decals

No reserve, means that there isn't a hidden reserve that you can't see for the item.