Sign in to follow this  
amcintyre

Sellers who don't complete the checkout

amcintyre

I'm new to selling things on BOB, but have bought a whole lot of items over the last couple of years. The first four sales, last week went really well - the buyers checked out and paid within a few hours. This week one buyer completed the sale and paid quite quickly. However, some buyers haven't even checked out their winning auctions.

I did stipulate in writing that I would like buyers to complete their purchase and pay within 48 hours. I sent an email to each winning buyer, a couple hours after the close of auction, stating thanks for their support and encouraging them to complete the sale and make payment in order that I can post off their items. I gave days and times when I can post them off, depending on when they pay.

So, I know that it's still 24 hours left until my "48 hour deadline". However, what do other sellers do if buyers would ignore their payment deadlines? I am planning to send an additional message asking the buyers, kindly and respectably to complete the purchase this evening and then what? I don't want to jump the gun and believe the worst, but what if it comes to that?

kyle2

I would not worry too much about it, even if you have stipulated 48hours to complete and pay, they have actually 7 days before you can file a SNC. I send the buyers a friendly reminder everyday and promise to post the item as soon as their payment has cleared, I find this works quite well, as it encourages the buyer rather than hassle them.

Seeds for Africa