Sign in to follow this  
Klapperkorrel

customs fees query

Klapperkorrel

Hi- I hope I am posting this in the correct category... I am really looking into purchasing wholesale items from online wholesalers in China/Hong Kong and the reselling these items on bidorbuy. I am VERY new to this and really need assistance... is there anyone who would be willing to mentor me?

My first question is: When I purchase an item from a wholesale website how do I work out whether or not I will need to pay customs fees on the items and how much it would be?

I am specifically looking into importing pajamas if that info helps at all .

I would appreciate any feedback.

JPBon

as far as I know the customs duty on clothing is 40%

Lukeness

Crikey!

MiemsJewels
Crikey!

Ask the sellers not to mis-declare the items. I had to pay R3700 on penalty etc today for items that cost me R3500. That doubles the cost of the items.

Klapperkorrel

oh goodness... this is scary stuff.. I will definitely keep that in mind. Thanks!

SProducts
Ask the sellers not to mis-declare the items. I had to pay R3700 on penalty etc today for items that cost me R3500. That doubles the cost of the items.

Thats too much, the worse part being when they dont sell well on auctions. I bought a Watch cellphone and had problems, I sent it back to teh supplier and when they returned it they declared at a low value. The customs stopped it and wanted me to pay R1500 although the phone itself costed about R700.00 when buying it. I went up and down, sent them proof this was sent back for repairs and it didnt help. I ended up telling them to take it as it wont make sense paying for it. Luckily the supplier sent me another one and asked me to only pay half for a new one.