Sign in to follow this  
JohnBenn

It is a shame that Art sell at such a low price on BOB

JohnBenn

I am new to BOB,and thus far;I've seen excellent pieces of Art selling at the price of the canvas.(I've seen stamps selling for more.)

Some of my paintings take up to three months to complete,so I really can't sell them at R100;but I need to clear out my studio.

And I don't have time to sell them anywhere else.

Any other Artists feel the same way about the current selling prices?

Edited by JohnBenn

lilythepink

The problem with buying art on the internet is that one cannot examine the painting beforehand to ensure it is indeed authentic. This is my opinion purely as a buyer of art. There are many threads on this forum containing questions about the authenticity of Father Claerhout artworks and perhaps they apply to other paintings as well? Would be interesting to see how other forumers feel about buying artworks without having the opportunity to examine them first.

Seeds for Africa

In my opinion, this is now covered by the CPA. Apart from criminal charges for selling fakes, if something is found to be non authentic it must be refunded as it doesnt meet the purpose that it was sold for. As for the Claerhouts - enough said. Too may questions remain unanswered.

Thanks

Grant

qball

Please stick to the topic, the issue at hand is not Claerhout paintings...

Thanks

TS Ron

I agreed saw some lovely art pieces a little weary to buy as you do not know how authentic it is? I would go to an art gallery where I can ask questions. I do not know maybe one day I shall take the plunge and buy.

lilythepink
In my opinion, this is now covered by the CPA. Apart from criminal charges for selling fakes, if something is found to be non authentic it must be refunded as it doesnt meet the purpose that it was sold for.