Sign in to follow this  
DynamicDecor

Shipping Charges *Im new*

DynamicDecor

Hi all

I'm new to Bob & am currently setting up my "Shipping charges & Methods"

:hm: What is the "norm" on Bob re min charge? How are you guys structuring your shipping charges?

If I look at what Speed Services are charging for items Medium to Large - :surprised: - How do you guys overcome this? If an item is sold for R 100 and shipping is R40.. thats a bit harsh don't you think? Its almost 50% of selling price..SMH

I want to set it up correctly from the word go...not rip anybody off for transport...but also dont want to do myself in paying in excess for shipping the item.

To give you an idea, the items will be a variety of shapes & sizes - Dynamic Decor being home decorative items & gifts. So it could be as small as glass paper weight and as big as entrance hall/dining room table. I would however start off listing the small items on bob to get into the swing of things first before I start uploading the bigger items.

Do your clients wish to insure the package?

Is a collection service recommended?

Currently I work with just a courier service...however min charge is R 200 - so I make sure I fill a box to capacity to make it worth my while.

Your assistance in this regard would be greatly appreciated. :blush:

JPBon

I work to standard postal rates plus a little for packaging, so for eg economail under 1kg and small in size (19.30 Sapo ) I charge around R25

for a 1kg parcel I charge 40 then around R 4 per kilo added on

TS Ron

My postage charge is R29.00 and shall give a run down it is a padded envelope a box for jewellery etc. Packaging can add to alot in the expense of postage as I do not think that any buyer wants their parcel arriving at the destination looking like the dogs breakfast.

DynamicDecor

Thanks JPBon.

If you use standard postal service for parcels - how long does it take to get to "major centres"

DynamicDecor

Thanks Asecon