Sign in to follow this  
Angolo Antico

Gemstone weights / carets, how does one get that info?

Angolo Antico    10
Angolo Antico

Hi,

This might be a very stupid question, but I am no expert on gemstones, let's say I have a digital scale with all the bells and functions to measure grams, carets ect.

Is getting any gemstone's caret weight as easy as just weighing the item with your scale on carat mode?

Hope you guys can help,

regards,

Marle

GemDeals    10
GemDeals

Hi Sacoins,

To get a decent reading it's not that simple.

Get your scale on a clean flat and level surface, then gently press down on the body of the scale to "set" it.

turn on the scale, wait till it shows 0. Select the correct function i,e g,ct,dwt etc...

Next clean your gem in a soft cloth or tissue, then place it gently on the tray of the scale with tweezers or the cloth.

With all those steps you will get an accurate reading with a normal pocket scale.

regards,

Chris.

Angolo Antico    10
Angolo Antico

Hi Chris,

Thanks again for the info. :D

I really didn't know that it was that 'easy', I expected an answer closer to a person having a degree in mathamatics, gemstones ect ect ect.

So whether I get the weight / carats of a diamond to a CZ, they all fall under the rules? Excluding quality offcourse!

GemDeals    10
GemDeals
Hi Chris,

Thanks again for the info. :D

I really didn't know that it was that 'easy', I expected an answer closer to a person having a degree in mathamatics, gemstones ect ect ect.

So whether I get the weight / carats of a diamond to a CZ, they all fall under the rules? Excluding quality offcourse!

:lol: luckily not!

Yes, all gemstones are measured with "Ct" or 0.2g per ct :)

qball    10
qball

CZ's have a heavier carat weight than diamonds... I think...

GemDeals    10
GemDeals

hehe, I think you are confusing specific gravity with the measure of weight "ct"

Cz is heavier that diamonds. However that only means a 1ct Cz will be smaller than a 1ct diamond ;)