Sign in to follow this  
webbrent

Grading Services

webbrent    10
webbrent

Hi All,

So I am rather new to the Coin Market, but took the time to order coins graded by different Grading firms. Most of them happen to be the 90th Birthday Mandela Coin.

I know very little regarding these grading firms, but seem to have a preference for NGC graded items. There seems to be less controversy around NGC, but also their casings just feel so robust.

Am I being naive? Are there better grading firms out there? The SACGS graded coin I have seems on par with the NGC grading, however the casings feel and look a little cheap.

What advise do you have for individuals that want to send coins for grading? Who would be the best, cost and value based?

I did some reading up on the NNC and a little worried on the items that I bought that were graded by them. Can I send these graded items to the NGC to regrade? Will they open the case, remove the coin, regarde and place it in one of their containers?

Later,

Webbrent

kyle2    10
kyle2

Sorry about your 90th birthday coin purchases, please do a forum search to find info on these coins and gradings services, you'll be horrified by the info on the 90th coins, there is a local grading company in the Cape, but I would stick to NGC, they seem to be the most consistant and hold their value. Seriously, there is a ton of info in previous posts, just do a search.

jwither    10
jwither

The Numismatic Guarantee Corporation (NGC) and Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS) have the widest market acceptability, are the market leaders and for equal coins, coins in their holders usually sell for more. NGC is the market leader for non-USA coin grading though for SA coins, I have seen many PCGS coins that are better quality for the same grade.