Sign in to follow this  
EEND

Zar Veld Pond ID 26132093

Guest Guest

No way

Personally I wouldn't touch that with a barge pole.

The seller has no ratings and if it was real the price seems extraordinarily cheap.

I think BoB check that listing out.

Kind regards

Scott Balson

Pierre_Henri

If no milling then probably stay away?

I am no expert on these issues but shouldn't this coin have a milled edge of between 72 and 79 grooves (on the edge)?

The seller describes it as having no milling so how can this be?

Or am I confusing the word with reeding?

Where are the ZAR experts like Thomas, George, Anthony, Werner etc. ?

Pierre

Mike Klee

Hi Pierre,

You have provided so much info on the GQT coins - as has Scott - that it is necessart to contribute on other matters....

When you compare this particular veldpond with images of certified specimens previously sold at auctions, it becomes very apparent that the "veldpond" on offer is not an exact match. Unfortunately for the seller, it has been well documented that the dies for the veldpond were hand-made and thus one of a kind. The slash that crept in would have been from deterioration of the die due to a piece of metal at some stage indenting the die itself - thus, the normal veldpond and the "slash" variety. Two types of veldpond...only two types....and with the slash being the differentiating feature.

Any purported veldpond on sale which differs from that of the slash/non-slash varieties which come from the original dies has got to be a fake.

Unfortunately for the seller, his specimen does not match the images in my possession of slabbed, genuine veldponds.......so the "coin" on sale cannot be genuine.....

Mike Klee

zarmaniac

Pierre, Mike and Scott...

I have examined this coin myself, as have Peter Bowles and Michael Kaplan, two dealers with 40 years+ experience each!