Sign in to follow this  
Pierre_Henri

What is born everyday?

Pierre_Henri

The coin on auction is a DAMAGED 1893 Tickey worth R2 (its silver melting value)

The seller advertises it with an irrelevant referral to a proof 1892 3d.

Quite a number of bidders are willing to part with hundreds of rands to buy this technically worthless coin.

Why?

See link ...

Silver Coins - 1893 ZAR 3 PENCE GRADED COIN BY SACGS.a gem proof 1892 3d was sold on oction for R 65000 in the USA. for sale in Athlone

admin

Hi Pierre,

As a complete novice when it comes to numismatics, even I can see the gross misrepresentation here.

Pierre_Henri

Here we go again ....

Here the same seller is selling a VF-12 ZAR shilling

I have never heard of a grade like that that - I thought VF grades start at 20 (VF20).

How is a VF-12 grade possible?

See following Bid-or-Buy link ...

Silver Coins - 1892 ZAR SHILLING GRADED "VF-12" GRADED BY SACGS VERY LOW START @@ LOOK @@@@ for sale in Athlone

RISadler

Look, let me explain how it works... All valuable coins are graded. This coin has been graded. Therefore it is a valuable coin.

ECONOZONE

What????

Bellcoin

Wow: ouch - eina

This is the problem - mis-representation and this has been on the forum before! This buyer is just another potential loss to numismatics.

Once bitten twice shy?

EWAAN Galleries

Stick with the top 4 Grading Companies

Hi All

I think bid or buy should only allow NGC, PCGS and ICG and ANACS coins for sale just like other big coin auctioneers - they will only sell coins graded by above 4 companies as they are recognized worldwide.

For example there are currently NNC coins being advertised on bid or buy and ebay - see how ugly those coins look and they call them UNC - Very bad for the market as those coins are not close to UNC condition.

Just a way to get all this rubbish out of the market and innocent bidders getting taken for a ride.

Regards.

EWAAN Auction Galleries

Guest Guest

Slabmania

Hi EWAAN