Sign in to follow this  
Vitality_Tec

MS-66 2008 Mandela R5. I need advise!!

Vitality_Tec    10
Vitality_Tec

Hi,

First I want to say, I'm completely new to the whole coin collecting thing. That's why I've come here for some advise.

I bought a MS-66 graded 2008 Mandela R5. When I received it today, I noticed it has a scratch on the back of the coin (actually one large scratch and a few smaller ones) It's only the bigger scratch you can actually see has some depth to it. It's not like a hair scratch (if that is what they call it) more like a chip out of the coin. The others are the same, just much smaller and not so deep.

What I want to know is, if this is normal on a MS-66. Is this something that can be caused when the coin gets minted?

I have a SA Coin Shop close to where I live. I'm going there on Sunday to ask them in person. But this is my first coin, and it's bothering me so much, I'd like to find out as soon as possible or at least get an opinion form another collector!

Also, the case has what looks like gray marks on it. Apparently it's only the rubber pressing against the plastic and it will go away after awhile. Is this true?

I appreciate all the help!

Thank you! :):)

Pierre_Henri    14
Pierre_Henri

Who graded the coin?

Welcome to the wonderful hobby of coin collecting.

What company graded your coin?

Vitality_Tec    10
Vitality_Tec

O yes, how dumb of me to leave that out. It was graded by NGC.

Pierre_Henri    14
Pierre_Henri

2008 Mandela MS66

a 2008 Mandela MS66 R5 sold a few minutes ago (I just checked the recently sold items on Bid-or-Buy) for R110.

Scratched or not, the coin is not scarce and if ungraded worth exacly R5.

I have a strange feeling you paid more than that?

Pierre

Vitality_Tec    10
Vitality_Tec

I payed exactly R110 for my MS66.

I know it's the cheapest of all the 2008 Mandela R5's. I just wanted something to start my collection.