Sign in to follow this  
Veto111

Why the low mintage???

Veto111

Hi everyone

I am relatively new to coin collecting and would just like someone to tell me why is it that some coins are minted in such low numbers? 1965 afrikaans 1c, R1, 1931 tickey etc... etc...

If possible anyone with any history/knowledge of this please share it.

I bid a good day to you all

Veto111

P.S. Sorry for lame pun :D:D:D

Pierre_Henri

Different Reasons

There might be different reasons why some years have low mintage numbers and are thus scarce or rare.

Regarding 1931, an old time collector told me that during the depression years, there was not a high demand for coins, because the issues in circulation (1923 to 1930) was more than enough to satisfy demand. Therefore the Mint decided to have a very low mintage run in 1931.

They however, realized their mistake during that year, and in 1932 minted a very high number of coins to "make up" for the lack of coins in circulation at that stage.

An interesting story about the 1931 coinage is that when the Mint offered the 62 available proof sets to their then regular clients, very few had the money to place their order. A teacher from Port Elizabeth, who must have inherited some money, ordered 13 sets and got them all. He paid next to nothing for them.

He started to sell the sets in the 1960s and must have made a lot of money. Today a 1931 proofset (graded) must be worth near to a quarter million so if multiplied by 13 works out at a nice retirement package for a teacher don't you think?

Pierre

jwither
Hi everyone

I am relatively new to coin collecting and would just like someone to tell me why is it that some coins are minted in such low numbers? 1965 afrikaans 1c, R1, 1931 tickey etc... etc...

If possible anyone with any history/knowledge of this please share it.

I bid a good day to you all

Veto111

P.S. Sorry for lame pun :D:D:D