Sign in to follow this  
ECONOZONE

What to buy?

ECONOZONE

Hi

I would like to know from the people who know, what they would be buying now if they were buying.I am talking about graded coins and from a investment point of view.Also would you buy one R20 000 coin or ten R2 000 coins?Investment medium to long term.

Thanks Craig

HR_COINS

I'm a newbie to coins but what little i've learnt is that dont ever consider coins an investment.

Its very risky and fluctuates a lot!

Coins are only worth what someone else is willing to pay.

Examples are the Mandela 2000 coins. They were hotcakes a while ago and no the value has dropped.

Also the Mandela birthday coins are another example.

Rather look at the true rare ZAR and union sets.

Maybe our veterans can give more guidance.

eZethu Coins
I'm a newbie to coins but what little i've learnt is that dont ever consider coins an investment.

Its very risky and fluctuates a lot!

Coins are only worth what someone else is willing to pay.

Examples are the Mandela 2000 coins. They were hotcakes a while ago and no the value has dropped.

Also the Mandela birthday coins are another example.

Rather look at the true rare ZAR and union sets.

Maybe our veterans can give more guidance.

I don't qualify as either a veteran or an investment adviser (standard disclaimer applies), but had an interesting chat to a great BoBer friend of mine just last week - Kevin Russel (now if I can just get him to also join in on the forums, then he could maybe share this himself - I know he will read this:p).

Kevin started collecting fairly recently and is very keen and enthusiastic - so in his hunger for knowledge, he has been playing with figures of random coins over a few years to see what the catalog value growth has been. It was just a small sample so one couldn't draw conclusive proof, but it does seem to indicate the larger % growth in Unions compared to Decimals.